Welcome to our new website! The old version is still available here

Jurjānu Andrejs VII International Woodwind Competition

On 10-17 October 2020 the Jāzeps Vītols Latvian Academy of Music (JVLMA) will host the Jurjānu Andrejs VII International Woodwind Competition, where young musicians will take the stage of the Academy’s Great Hall to compete in five categories: flute, oboe, clarinet, bassoon, and saxophone.

1st prize – EUR 3000
2nd prize – EUR 2000
3rd prize – EUR 1000


The competition is open to musicians born in or after 1990.

There are three rounds to the competition, and the participants will be evaluated by an international jury comprised of flutist, associate professor of the JVLMA Ilona Meija and saxophone player, JVLMA professor Artis Sīmanis from Latvia, as well as top-notch musicians representing other countries – flutist Silvia Careddu (Italy), oboist Louise Pellerin (Canada/Switzerland), clarinetist Karel Dohnal (Czechia), bassoon player Peeter Sarapuu (Estonia), and saxophone player Christian Maurer (Austria).

Participants of Round III will perform with the Latvian chamber orchestra Sinfonietta Rīga and conductor Normunds Šnē. 

All rounds of the competition are open to the public.

APPLICATIONS are to be submitted electronically by 1 June 2020. The list of participants will be published on the competition’s website, and the selected participants will receive a confirmation e-mail by 1 July 2020.


Jurjānu Andrejs (1856–1922) was one of the first Latvian musicians to receive professional musical education. He was a talented composer, an avid horn player, renowned folk music scholar and a brilliant educator.

The first Jurjānu Andrejs competition took place in 1981 in honour of Jurjānu Andrejs’s 125th birthday. It was organised by the Jurjāni Brothers Society, led by Mārtiņš Jauģietis, on the initiative of prominent Latvian wind instrument expert, professor Gunārs Ordelovskis (1927–1990). 

Two more Jurjānu Andrejs national competitions were organised in 1991 and 1996. After the foundation of the Jurjāni Brothers Society in 1997, the scope of the competition was broadened, and 2001 saw the first international Jurjānu Andrejs competition.

In 2015, the Jāzeps Vītols Latvian Academy of Music took over as the competition organiser.

Nowadays, the Jurjānu Andrejs International Woodwind Competition attracts wide interest not only among Latvian musicians, but also among young performers and lecturers abroad.

Former Latvian winners of the competition include Ints Dālderis, Uldis Lipskis, Ilona Meija, Anete Toča, Andris Nelsons, Oskars Petrauskis, Arvīds Kazlausks, Guntis Kuzma, Anna Gāgane, and others.

The Jurjānu Andrejs VII International Woodwind Competition is supported by the JVLMA and the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Latvia.

Contact information for participants:

Citi konkursi

Dalīties ar šo konkursu