Congratulations to the winners of the JVLMA and LMT Annual Award 2020!

On February 18, the most significant award of the Jāzeps Vītols Latvian Academy of Music / JVLMA / was presented - JVLMA and Latvian Mobile Telepohone / LMT / Annual Award 2020.

In the virtual presentation ceremony, which took place on the JVLMA Youtube channel and in the LMT Straume app those people names were revealed to the public for the first time, who stood out in 2020 with unique and creative solutions in studies, artistic creation and research. This year, thanks to LMT support, three JVLMA lecturers have received the award - associate professor, flutist Ilona Meija, professor, musicologist Lolita Fūrmane, lecturer, concertmaster Ilze Dzērve, and three JVLMA students - composer Edgars Mākens, violinist Andrejs Jegorovs.

The annual award was established in 2004 - JVLMA's 85th birthday. Initially, it was awarded to the students of the Academy of Music for their creative activity and outstanding success in music, but a year later, in 2005, it was also awarded for outstanding pedagogical and creative work by one of the faculty members of the Academy. In 2017, this award won the LMT name and today honors the achievements of all fields represented at the Academy of Music. In 2017, this award received the name of LMT and today honors the achievements of all fields represented at the Academy of Music.

So far, the Young Musician of the Year Award has been awarded to such people as the internationally accomplished composer Anna Ķirse, the winner of the Grand Music Award 2019 in the nomination Young Artist of the Year Aigars Raumanis, Berlin Philharmonic double bassist Gunārs Upatnieks, percussion virtuoso and composer Rihards Zaņupe, pianists Andrejs Osokins and Georgijs Osokins and other well-known names. Pianist Herta Hansen, composer Selga Mence, heart and soul of the JVLMA contemporary music festival deciBels Rolands Kronlaks, and many others were awarded the Award for the Best Teacher of the Year.


Share this article